How to Become a Notary in West Virginia: Requirements, Fees and Bond
West Virginia notaries are commissioned through: West Virginia Secretary of State. The commission term is not stated as a single figure in the official source. Whether a bond is required was not confirmed from the official source. Fields shown as not verified were not found on the official source; check the source page below.
| State | West Virginia |
|---|---|
| Abbreviation | WV |
| Commissioning office | West Virginia Secretary of State |
| Commission term | Not verified from the official source |
| Surety bond required | Not verified from the official source |
| Bond amount | Not verified from the official source |
| Application fee | Not verified from the official source |
| Maximum fee, acknowledgment | Not verified from the official source |
| Maximum fee, jurat | Not verified from the official source |
| Fee note | The statute sets no application fee amount; the Secretary of State sets it. The amount was not confirmed on an official page. The form CWV-1 $500 fee applies to out-of-state commissioners, not resident notaries. |
| Remote online notarization (RON) allowed | Not verified from the official source |
| Maximum RON fee | Not verified from the official source |
| Training required | Not verified from the official source |
| Exam required | Not verified from the official source |
| Minimum age | 18 |
| Residency rule | Resident of West Virginia or has a place of employment or practice there; U.S. citizen or permanent legal resident; reads and writes English |
| Official source | https://code.wvlegislature.gov/39-4-20/ |
| Additional official sources | None listed |
| Last verified | not re-fetched |
| Notes on how the row was compiled | not re-fetched; value from a search extract of the official page. A direct fetch of the legislature URL was redirected elsewhere and not followed; term (five years), age 18 and residency come from a search extract quoting W. Va. Code 39-4-20 on code.wvlegislature.gov. Bond, fee, training, exam, fee caps and RON are null: not stated in that extract, and fee figures appeared only in third-party guides. |
Official source (plain text, copy into your browser): https://code.wvlegislature.gov/39-4-20/
Last verified: not re-fetched