How to Become a Notary in Utah: Requirements, Fees and Bond
Utah notaries are commissioned through: Utah Office of the Lieutenant Governor. The commission term is not stated as a single figure in the official source. A surety bond is required; the amount was not confirmed. Fields shown as not verified were not found on the official source; check the source page below.
| State | Utah |
|---|---|
| Abbreviation | UT |
| Commissioning office | Utah Office of the Lieutenant Governor |
| Commission term | Not verified from the official source |
| Surety bond required | Yes |
| Bond amount | Not verified from the official source |
| Application fee | Not verified from the official source |
| Maximum fee, acknowledgment | Not verified from the official source |
| Maximum fee, jurat | Not verified from the official source |
| Fee note | The page says applicants pay for the test online; amounts are not stated on the fetched page. |
| Remote online notarization (RON) allowed | Not verified from the official source |
| Maximum RON fee | Not verified from the official source |
| Training required | Not verified from the official source |
| Exam required | Yes |
| Minimum age | Not verified from the official source |
| Residency rule | Not verified from the official source |
| Official source | https://notary.utah.gov/ |
| Additional official sources | None listed |
| Last verified | 2026-10-12 |
| Notes on how the row was compiled | Fetched page: applicants must take, pass and pay for the test online and must submit a bond; the page says processing takes up to 14 business days, and it notes that S.B. 139 amending the Notaries Public Reform Act takes effect 2026-05-06 and its changes were not read. No term, bond amount, fee, age or residency figure is on the page, so those are null. |
Official source (plain text, copy into your browser): https://notary.utah.gov/
Last verified: 2026-10-12