How to Become a Notary in Oklahoma: Requirements, Fees and Bond
Oklahoma notaries are commissioned through: Oklahoma Secretary of State. The commission term is 4 years. Whether a bond is required was not confirmed from the official source. Remote online notarization is allowed. Fields shown as not verified were not found on the official source; check the source page below.
| State | Oklahoma |
|---|---|
| Abbreviation | OK |
| Commissioning office | Oklahoma Secretary of State |
| Commission term | 4 years |
| Surety bond required | Not verified from the official source |
| Bond amount | Not verified from the official source |
| Application fee | Not verified from the official source |
| Maximum fee, acknowledgment | Not verified from the official source |
| Maximum fee, jurat | Not verified from the official source |
| Fee note | Fees conflict (bond_required is null: the official page lists a bond filing fee but does not state a bond is required): the Secretary of State page read earlier shows $25, but search extracts say SB 1028 (effective 2026-01-01) raised the application fee to $50 and the bond filing fee from $10 to $25. The enacted text was not read, so the fee is null. No cap on notarial act fees was found. |
| Remote online notarization (RON) allowed | Yes |
| Maximum RON fee | Not verified from the official source |
| Training required | Not verified from the official source |
| Exam required | Not verified from the official source |
| Minimum age | 18 |
| Residency rule | Legal resident of or employed within Oklahoma |
| Official source | https://www.sos.ok.gov/notary/default.aspx |
| Additional official sources | None listed |
| Last verified | 2026-10-12 |
| Notes on how the row was compiled | Fetched page confirms the four-year term, age, residency and online-only filing, and lists a $10 bond filing fee; a bond requirement is inferred from that fee, not stated, so bond_required is null. Conflict not resolved from official text: the bond amount is null (the page gives none; search extracts of SB 1028 on oklegislature.gov say $10,000 from 2026-01-01, up from $1,000, but the enacted text was not read), and the application fee is null for the same reason. RON is true because the page offers a remote online notary authorization; its fee is a filing fee, not a cap on notarial act fees. Not found, so null: fee caps, training, exam. |
Official source (plain text, copy into your browser): https://www.sos.ok.gov/notary/default.aspx
Last verified: 2026-10-12