All states covered

How to Become a Notary in North Carolina: Requirements, Fees and Bond

North Carolina notaries are commissioned through: North Carolina Secretary of State, Notary Public Section. The commission term is not stated as a single figure in the official source. Whether a bond is required was not confirmed from the official source. Fields shown as not verified were not found on the official source; check the source page below.

North Carolina notary data, one row per field
StateNorth Carolina
AbbreviationNC
Commissioning officeNorth Carolina Secretary of State, Notary Public Section
Commission termNot verified from the official source
Surety bond requiredNot verified from the official source
Bond amountNot verified from the official source
Application feeNot verified from the official source
Maximum fee, acknowledgmentNot verified from the official source
Maximum fee, juratNot verified from the official source
Fee noteThe notary home page links to a Fees page whose contents were not read.
Remote online notarization (RON) allowedNot verified from the official source
Maximum RON feeNot verified from the official source
Training requiredNot verified from the official source
Exam requiredNot verified from the official source
Minimum ageNot verified from the official source
Residency ruleNot verified from the official source
Official sourcehttps://www.sosnc.gov/divisions/notary
Additional official sourcesNone listed
Last verified2026-10-12
Notes on how the row was compiledFetched page: the Remote Electronic Notarization Act (RENA) became law on 2022-07-08, and emergency video notarizations are extended to 2027-07-01 or until the first RENA license is issued; whether a license has been issued is not stated, so RON is null. The page gives no term, bond, fee, course or age figure. Third-party and 1997 bill sources mention a $50 fee and a community college course but are not used.

Official source (plain text, copy into your browser): https://www.sosnc.gov/divisions/notary

Last verified: 2026-10-12