How to Become a Notary in Connecticut: Requirements, Fees and Bond
Connecticut notaries are commissioned through: Secretary of the State, Business Services Division. The commission term is 5 years. Whether a bond is required was not confirmed from the official source. The application fee is $120. The maximum notary fee is $10 for an acknowledgment and $10 for a jurat. Fields shown as not verified were not found on the official source; check the source page below.
| State | Connecticut |
|---|---|
| Abbreviation | CT |
| Commissioning office | Secretary of the State, Business Services Division |
| Commission term | 5 years |
| Surety bond required | Not verified from the official source |
| Bond amount | Not verified from the official source |
| Application fee | $120 |
| Maximum fee, acknowledgment | $10 |
| Maximum fee, jurat | $10 |
| Fee note | Fee for any notarial act raised from $5 to $10 under Public Act 26-81, effective 2026-07-01, plus a mileage rate (new rate not stated on the page). Renewal $60; recording the oath with the town clerk costs $20. |
| Remote online notarization (RON) allowed | Not verified from the official source |
| Maximum RON fee | Not verified from the official source |
| Training required | Not verified from the official source |
| Exam required | Yes |
| Minimum age | 18 |
| Residency rule | Resides in Connecticut or has a principal place of business there |
| Official source | https://portal.ct.gov/SOTS/Business-Services/Notary/Notary-Public-Licensing |
| Additional official sources | None listed |
| Last verified | 2026-10-12 |
| Notes on how the row was compiled | Exam is taken under oath within the online application. Page cites Public Act 23-28 on remote notarial acts (effective 2023-10-01), but RON status is null because the page does not state it directly. The page does not mention a bond, so bond fields are null. Not found, so null: RON fee cap, training. |
Official source (plain text, copy into your browser): https://portal.ct.gov/SOTS/Business-Services/Notary/Notary-Public-Licensing
Last verified: 2026-10-12