How to Become a Notary in Arkansas: Requirements, Fees and Bond
Arkansas notaries are commissioned through: Arkansas Secretary of State. The commission term is not stated as a single figure in the official source. Whether a bond is required was not confirmed from the official source. The application fee is $20. Fields shown as not verified were not found on the official source; check the source page below.
| State | Arkansas |
|---|---|
| Abbreviation | AR |
| Commissioning office | Arkansas Secretary of State |
| Commission term | Not verified from the official source |
| Surety bond required | Not verified from the official source |
| Bond amount | Not verified from the official source |
| Application fee | $20 |
| Maximum fee, acknowledgment | Not verified from the official source |
| Maximum fee, jurat | Not verified from the official source |
| Fee note | No fee cap was found. Electronic notary commission is separate: $20 application fee plus $5 convenience fee, plus a $30 course/exam fee. |
| Remote online notarization (RON) allowed | Not verified from the official source |
| Maximum RON fee | Not verified from the official source |
| Training required | Not verified from the official source |
| Exam required | Yes |
| Minimum age | 18 |
| Residency rule | Arkansas resident, or resident of a bordering state employed in Arkansas; U.S. citizen or permanent resident; reads and writes English; no felony conviction |
| Official source | https://www.sos.arkansas.gov/business-commercial-services-bcs/notary-e-notary |
| Additional official sources | https://www.sos.arkansas.gov/frequently-asked-questions/46 |
| Last verified | 2026-10-12 |
| Notes on how the row was compiled | The fetched page confirms the online notary exam (Classmarker) and the military-spouse residency exception; fetched FAQ https://www.sos.arkansas.gov/frequently-asked-questions/46 (2026-10-12) quotes 'The $20 application fee is not enclosed', 'At least eighteen (18) years of age' and 'A legal resident of Arkansas OR a resident of a state that borders Arkansas, but is employed in Arkansas'; it does not state a bond amount, so the $7,500 bond from an earlier extract is dropped. Not found, so null: bond, fee caps, RON status (a separate electronic notary commission exists), training. |
Official source (plain text, copy into your browser): https://www.sos.arkansas.gov/business-commercial-services-bcs/notary-e-notary
Last verified: 2026-10-12